Switzerland Finally Joins the 20th Century–Almost

The IHT reports that Switzerland will become a “Schengen” country and join the European Union’s passport-free travel zone next month. No passports will be checked arriving at Swiss airports starting 29 March 2009.

Now they only need to adopt the Euro to fully join the 20th century.

Other backward countries in Europe remain:

  • Cyprus, Britain, Liechtenstein and Ireland have opted to stay out of Schengen
  • Romania and Bulgaria want to join Schengen, but have yet to qualify.
  • Norway and Iceland participate are not EU, but are Schengen

Published by


Created this account for remote posting.

Leave a Reply